The United States Golf Teachers Cup

The United States Golf Teachers Cup is the annual national championship event of the United States Golf Teachers Federation (USGTF), although all members of the WGTF are welcome to play. The tournament has been held at premier golf courses throughout the United States, adding to its popularity. A full field of 156 or more golfers from all over the world is generally on hand to compete in this most prestigious event. Divisions of play include Open, Senior (50+), Super Senior (60+), and Ladies. A purse featuring $25,000 or more in prize money is one of the many perks of the event. Held in autumn, the United States Golf Teachers Cup welcomes all Level III (fully-certified) and Level IV (Master Golf Teaching Professionals) members on first-received, first-served entry basis.

History of the United States Golf Teachers Cup®

Year Location Champion Score
1996 St. Augustine, Florida Edward Lee 74
1997 Bonsall, California Shawn Clement 73
1998 Port St. Lucie, Florida Mark Harman 71
1999 Port St. Lucie, Florida Brian Lamberti 223
2000 Mont Alto, Pennsylvania Mark Umphreyville 71
2001 Jensen Beach, Florida Mark Harman 152
2002 Milton, Florida Mark Harman 141
2003 Las Vegas, Nevada Mark Harman 144
2004 Springfield, Louisiana Dave Belling 147
2005 San Antonio, Texas Mark Harman 142
2006 Boulder City, Nevada James Douris 141
2007 Boulder City, Nevada James Douris 140
2008 Albuquerque, New Mexico Jerry Moore 138
2009 Hilton Head Island, South Carolina James Douris 141
2010 Primm, Nevada Christopher Richards 141
2011 Orlando, Floirda James Douris 142
2012 Boulder City, Nevada Bill Hardwick 138
2013 Tunica Resorts, Mississippi Grant Gulych 147
2014 Boulder City, Nevada Dave Belling 136
2015 Orlando, Florida Bill Hardwick 142
2016 Scottsdale, Arizona Mark Harman 142
2017 Boulder City, Nevada Matt Smith 144
2018 Niagara Falls, Ontario Mark Harman 148
2019 Sedona, Arizona Shouting “Hunter” Huang 143
2020 Event Cancelled Covid-19 Pandemic


Highlights Throughout the Years

1996 – Edward Lee wins the inaugural event, playing out of the Senior division

1997 – Playing both left- and right-handed, Canadian Shawn Clement takes first place at San Luis Rey Downs Golf Course.

1998 – Mark Harman wins his first US Cup.

1999 – Brian Lamberti wins the only US Cup contested over three rounds, played during World Golf Teachers Cup week.

2000 – Mark Umphreyville from California heads east to win at Penn National.

2001 – High winds and firm greens make the scores high, as Mark Harman wins his second title. The championship adopts a permanent format of two rounds.

2002 – Mark Harman becomes the first to successfully defend his championship.

2003 – Mark Harman, despite missing a 2-footer on the last hole, brings home the three-peat.

2004 – Dave Belling becomes the second Canadian to win the title, following up his victory in the 2003 World Golf Teachers Cup.

2005 – Prevailing in a playoff, Mark Harman captures his record fifth title.

2006 – James Douris from Australia wins in a playoff to become the first player from outside North America to win the championship.

2007 – James Douris successfully defends his championship, and becomes just the second player to win multiple US Cups.

2008 – Jerry Moore, playing out of the Super Senior division, becomes the oldest champion of the United States Golf Teachers Cup at age 68, firing rounds of 71-67 to win by seven strokes, a record.  Moore was also the first competitor to shoot his age in a WGTF event

2009 – James Douris captured his third US Cup in a 2-hole playoff over Trinidad & Tobago’s Christopher Richards, in a replay of their battle in 2006.

2010 – Christopher Richards, after runner-up finishes in 2006 & 2009, wins his first US Cup in wire-to-wire fashion.

2011 – James Douris overcomes an opening-hole triple bogey to win his fourth US Cup.

2013 – Grant Gulych, a longtime participant in the US Cup, realized his playing potential by overwhelming the field with a final-round 69 in claiming the 2013 title at Tunica National Golf Club in Tunica Resorts, Mississippi

2014 – Dave Belling, a newly-minted senior golfer at the age of 50, shot a US Cup record 8-under par 136 to win the 2014 edition of the USGTF’s national championship tournament October 22-23 at Boulder Creek Golf Club in Boulder City, Nevada.

2015 – Bill Hardwick from Aurora, Ontario, continued a trend of Canadian winners 50 and over when he won his second title, shooting 76-66 – 143, to win the 2015 US Golf Teacher’s Cup at Disney’s Golf Resort in Orlando, Florida.

2016 – Mark Harman from Ridgeland, South Carolina, regained the US Cup Champion title, shooting 71-71 – 142, to win the 2016 US Golf Teacher’s Cup at Talking Stick Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona.

2017 – Matt Smith from Pataskala, Ohio secured the US Cup Champion title, shooting 75-69 – 144, to win the 2017 US Golf Teacher’s Cup at Boulder Creek Golf Club in Boulder City, Nevada.

2018 – Mark Harman from Ridgeland, South Carolina wins his seventh U.S. and first CGTF Cup championship, shooting 75-73 – 148, at the U.S. / Canadian Golf Teachers Cup held at Ussher’s Creek Golf Course in Naigara Falls, Ontario.

2019 – Shouting Huang from Atlanta, Georgia secured wins his 1st US Cup Champion title, shooting 75-68 – 143, to win the 2019 US Golf Teacher’s Cup at the Oakcreek Country Club in Sedona, Arizona.

2020 – Due to the worldwide Covid-19 pandemic and for the safety of USGTF members and staff the 25th annual US Golf Teachers Cup was postponed to 2021.